Joint Entrance Test (JEE)

Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) is an all India common entrance examination which is conducted by CBSE for admission into B.E./B.Tech&B.Arch courses. JEE (Joint Entrance Examination) is being conducted in two parts- JEE-Main and JEE-Advanced.

JEE- Main exam is for admission in IIITs (Indian Institutes of Information Technology), National Institutes of Technology & CFTIs (Central Funded Technical Institute It is conducted in the first week of April every year and generally, the result is declared towards the end of the month following which the registration for JEE Advanced commences.

JEE-Advanced is conducted in May every year for admissions into B.Tech, Integrated M.Tech or B.Tech-M.Tech Dual Degree in Engineering, Architecture, Science & Pharmacy in IITs and ISM. A candidate is allowed maximum two attempts in JEE Advanced. From 2018 onwards, JEE Advanced Examination will be conducted in fully computer based test mode.

As IIT's are considered the premier Engineering and Science colleges in India, the candidates have to clear the second level of exam of JEE-Advanced for securing admission in them. Only top candidates of JEE-Mains are eligible to appear for JEE-Advanced exam. The candidates who clear JEE-Advanced exam have the opportunity to join either of the IIT's. The candidates who clear JEE-Main but are not eligible for JEE-Advanced, can seek admission in other engineering colleges such as Indian Institute of Information Technology, National Institute of Technology, and other Government and Private engineering Colleges. Every year approx. 13 Lakhs students appear in JEE-main exam and only 2 Lakh students qualify

The New JEE Pattern
Common Entrance Test

For Admission to NITs & other Engg. Colleges For Admission to IITs
JEE Main JEE Main (Top 1,50,000 Students)
Rank for NITs JEE Advance
  Rank of IITs


List of National Institute of Technology(NITs)With Number of Seats in NIT

1. Agartala 420 2. Allahabad 530
3. Manipur 310 4. Meghalaya 300
5. Mizoram 310 6. Nagaland 320
7. Nagpur 480 8. Patan 400
9. Puducherry 300 10. Raipur 620
11. Rourkela 420 12. Sikkin 280
13. Silchar 300 14. Srinagar 410
15. Surat 450 16. Surathkal, Mangalore 480
17. Tiruchirapalli 530 18. Uttrakhand 440
19. Arunachal Pradesh 430 20. Bhopal 690
21. Calicut 570 22. Delhi 975
23. Durgapur 520 24. Goa 320
25. Hamipur 330 26. Jaipur 520
27. Jalandhar 500 28. Jamshedpur 390
29. Kurukshetra 540 30. Warangal 620